DEXTEROUS MANIPULATION

The world of dexterous hands.

Compare hardware. Discover applications. Share what works. An open reference and community for dexterous manipulation.

Compare dexterous hands

Compare finger motion, tactile sensing, weight and software for your next experiment.

Need a hand? →

Start with the task. Then compare the evidence.

221 source-linked records: commercial hands, research platforms, robot-integrated designs and adjacent grippers. A listing is not a recommendation or proof of availability.

Read the selection guide →
What should I check before choosing a hand?
Motion
Compare active and total DOF separately. More joints do not guarantee better performance on your task; check thumb opposition, coupling and joint limits.
Touch and feedback
Ask which surfaces are sensed, what the sensor measures, and whether readings are available through the SDK. Motor current is not a direct fingertip-force measurement.
Weight and integration
Check the mass boundary: hand only, wrist or complete assembly. Confirm mounting, power, communication and cable requirements with the maker.
Software and evidence
Match the exact hardware revision to its SDK, example code and simulation model. A demo or a model file is not an independent reliability test.
Price and availability
Compare one hand with one hand, and check included controllers, sensing, accessories, taxes and delivery. Missing values mean unknown, not zero.

Select two to four records using their Compare controls, then open the side-by-side comparison. Understand price scope · Plan your first integration · How we use sources

How do I turn a task into a useful shortlist?
  1. Define one observable task. Name the object, its size and surface, the required finger motion and what counts as success. Picking up a block and turning a key require different evidence. Use the task-first selection checklist.
  2. Separate requirements from unknowns. For each shortlisted model, record the exact revision, left/right hand, controllable joints, sensor outputs, SDK and mounting constraints. Mark missing information as unconfirmed; a blank field is not a failed capability. Check the integration requirements.
  3. Choose the next verification step. For simulation, inspect the model and its license before evaluating a policy. For hardware, ask the manufacturer for a demonstration of your task and the matching developer package. Explore available 3D models · Plan a simulation evaluation.

Save two to four candidates and the unresolved questions for each. A product video, DOF count or simulation model alone cannot establish that a hand meets your task.

Explore before you build.

27 licensed model versions. Rotate the geometry, inspect joints and follow the original files.

Hands with interactive 3D →Browse every model version →Versions are not unique manufacturers. Some family models do not map to an exact catalog SKU.
Coverage & gaps 221 entries · 12 added in this reviewView audit

A growing directory, with visible gaps.

Entries include product generations, configurations, research designs and adjacent grippers. The count is not a count of unique current products or proof of complete market coverage.

Active DOF established
171 / 221
Mass established
124 / 221
Numeric price / build cost
94 / 221
Product / project image
117 / 221

103 other entries use family, listing or logo references; 1 have no verified image. Price counts include dated material costs and seller offers, not just retail prices. Different mass boundaries remain visible in each entry.

Added in this pass

Still under review

Apptronik Apollo end effectors

Official materials discuss different manipulators and ongoing dexterous-hand work. Exact named hand SKU, revision and hand-only specifications still need primary confirmation; do not create a new product for every integration photo.

Starting source ↗

NEURA 4NE1 hand configurations

Official product page describes exchangeable forearms without a versioned standalone hand specification. Verify the hand maker and configuration before adding a separate model.

Starting source ↗

Tesla later production-hand revisions

The catalog’s 22-DOF entry is the 2024 engineering revision. A later robot generation must have its own primary hand specification before that label or its numbers are updated.

Starting source ↗

Figure 01 and earlier NEO hands

Historical robot names alone do not establish distinct hand designs. Earlier hand revisions need their own dated engineering evidence; current specs must not be copied backward.

Starting source ↗

Additional research and legacy families

RBO Hand 1/2, DLR generations, Krysalis, CYJ and ISyHand-related variants remain outside this pass. Verify original papers, model lineage and current status before importing numbers.

Starting source ↗

Alias and configuration consolidation

Left/right units, motor/sensor options and seller aliases are catalog entries, not automatically unique designs. Linkerbot L10 / L20 Lite equivalence remains explicitly uncertain; avoid merging without maker confirmation.

Starting source ↗

Mand.ro Mark7 robotics configurations

Robotics and prosthetic variants share a family name. Resolve exact robotics configurations, hand-only specifications and current offers before adding separate models.

Starting source ↗

DexHand v2 release status

The repository README and release/licensing language require reconciliation before treating the current design as a reproducible public build.

Starting source ↗

GaiaHand example specifications

Repository specifications are labeled as examples. A versioned hardware release and measured specifications are needed before normalization.

Starting source ↗

Gap review: 2026-10-02. Targeted October 2 review of new manufacturer listings and missing research platforms. Earlier catalog entries retain their own evidence dates; this is not a re-verification of the whole directory. Evidence standards →

Active / total DOF: 22 / 22

Sensing: Force-controlled joints; tactile / shear sensing described by maker · Weight basis: No comparable one-hand mass verified.

Software: Integrated NEO platform; standalone hand SDK not verified.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 10 / 16

Sensing: Position, angle, torque, speed, temperature and current feedback; no tactile skin · Weight basis: ≤500 g

Software: Windows; SDK and Python examples; ROS2 support in development per undated storeFAQ

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 10 / 16

Sensing: >400 tactile taxels, 0–20 N range and 0.1 N stated resolution, plus proprioceptive telemetry · Weight basis: ≤550 g

Software: Windows; SDK and Python examples; ROS2 support in development per undated storeFAQ

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 12 / 19

Sensing: >150 tactile points; 3-axis fingertip and 1-axis palm sensing, 0–50 N / 0.01 N stated resolution · Weight basis: ≤750 g in official table; headline says 820 g

Software: Windows; SDK and Python examples; ROS2 support in development per undated storeFAQ

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / 21

Sensing: Position and joint-torque sensing at every actuated joint; optional tactile sensors · Weight basis: Manufacturer hand weight; seller 0.8 kg field conflicts

Software: C++/Python/ROS APIs

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 20 / 20

Sensing: Vision tactile fingertips0–30N,0.005Nresolution;300palm tactile pixels0.1Nresolution · Weight basis: 630g

Software: C++/Python,ROS2,Isaac/MuJoCo assets

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 22 / 22

Sensing: Distributed3Dtactile0.01Nresolution;in-palm camera · Weight basis: One hand: 0.500 kg; full assembly approximately 1.7 kg. External assembly excluded from sorting.

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 4 / 8

Sensing: High-precision position encoders; optional fingertip torque, fingertip/palm tactile, 6-axis F/T, or perception palm · Weight basis: Self-contained hand; external 0.7 kg AC supply excluded

Software: C++/Python (libbarrett/PyHand)

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / 11

Sensing: Multi-dimensional fingertip tactile module; exact output schema and firmware must be confirmed. · Weight basis: Hand only; camera excluded.

Software: Manufacturer documents Python/C SDK and Linux, Windows, ROS workflows; release/firmware compatibility not tested.

Interactive 3D · Apache-2.0 →Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 10 / 10

Sensing: ReSkin magnetic tactile sensing on palm and fingertips · Weight basis: Paper appendix: hand with ReSkin sensing.

Software: Public hardware release and MuJoCo resources

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 12 / 19

Sensing: 23 sensors spanning position, temperature, normal/tangential force and proximity; stated 0.1 N resolution · Weight basis: hand

Software: Python/C++/ROS SDK

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 18 / 22

Sensing: Full-palm multimodal tactile system; public channel count not yet complete · Weight basis: not published in checked current text

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / 8

Sensing: Standard position + 5 MP RGB camera; optional capacitive normal/tangential/proximity sensing · Weight basis: 0.60 kg

Software: SDK

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 13 / —

Sensing: Fingertip tactile standard; extra skin / force-torque / visuotactile options · Weight basis: Reported single-hand weight in manufacturer announcement.

Software: Not established

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 7 / 7

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: Manufacturer reports 900 g for one hand.

Software: C++ / Python; ROS 2 and simulation workflows described by maker

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 15 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One listed hand; fixture and cable boundary not specified.

Software: Research integration; no current supported SDK package verified.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / —

Sensing: 17 vision-based tactile sensors; authors report 70% palmar coverage and 0.1 mm spatial resolution · Weight basis: Hand-only mass not established in the reviewed source.

Software: Not established

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / 11

Sensing: 113 tactile force sensors; 10 bending sensors; 14 pressure sensors · Weight basis: One BionicSoftHand 2.0 including wrist per concept datasheet.

Software: Research demonstration; supported commercial SDK not verified.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / —

Sensing: Fingertip tactile sensors, compliant fingertips and an embedded palm camera · Weight basis: Per-hand mass not established; whole-robot mass is excluded

Software: Integrated with Helix / Helix 02; standalone hand SDK not verified

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / —

Sensing: Optional five-channel tactile; 3–10 N force-control range · Weight basis: <800 g in current product page; 715 g in dated 2025-08-08 manual

Software: Python / ROS manufacturer launch materials

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 21 / 21

Sensing: Joint encoders, tactile sensors and palm stereo cameras · Weight basis: Project-page hand mass; remote motor hub and tendon-sheath assembly excluded.

Software: Project advertises open hardware/software; inspect actual releases before building

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / 12

Sensing: T1:17 resistive tactile modules;T2:5 capacitive modules; non-tactile variant also listed · Weight basis: 770±10g without tactile;790±10g with tactile

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 13 / 18

Sensing: Eight tactile modules measuring force, position and temperature; joint feedback · Weight basis: One hand excluding wrist: 1.020 ± 0.015 kg.

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / 11

Sensing: High-precision encoder; tactile variants referenced but RFQ · Weight basis: Current store 379 ±10 g; another maker variant page says 359 g

Software: Windows/Linux/ROS 2; C++/Python

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / 11

Sensing: Position/current/force telemetry; tactile not stated as standard · Weight basis: hand; maker nominal

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 16 / 16

Sensing: Fingertip sensors and joint telemetry · Weight basis: hand; maker nominal

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 20 / 20

Sensing: Production tactile package not established in current primary specification · Weight basis: hand; maker nominal

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / 11

Sensing: Position/force telemetry; optional tactile configuration · Weight basis: hand; maker nominal

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 15 / 21

Sensing: Joint encoders; motor/force estimation (<0.1 N cited sensitivity); fingertips sense normal, tangential and multi-contact forces; synchronized global-shutter cameras · Weight basis: Not published

Software: Interface/API not yet publicly specified

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 18 / 18

Sensing: Motor proprioception; tactile sensors are an integration option, not a claimed standard package · Weight basis: Paper-reported single hand; external power supply and computer not included.

Software: Not established

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / 15

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: Hand-only mass not established in the reviewed source.

Software: Official code and assembly instructions; learned controllers and teleoperation examples

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / —

Sensing: Optional magnetic encoders and tactile attachments · Weight basis: Hand-only mass not established in the reviewed source.

Software: Public build instructions, controller and calibration code

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 17 / 17

Sensing: 351 Hall-effect taxels across five digits; maker describes 6-D force/torque sensing at each taxel · Weight basis: Not published

Software: Python orca_core; open CAD/BOM; manufacturer says no ROS2 integration

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / 11

Sensing: Magnetic/position encoders and motor-current-derived force; no tactile skin · Weight basis: No A001 mass independently verified; previous massBasis incorrectly referred to A002

Software: Manufacturer ROS / ROS 2 SDK

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / 11

Sensing: Magnetic/position encoders and motor-current-derived force; no tactile skin · Weight basis: A002 545 g

Software: Manufacturer ROS / ROS 2 SDK

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / 11

Sensing: Full piezoresistive dot-matrix tactile coverage across fingertips/palm, 0.1–25 N, 150 Hz, ±20% stated · Weight basis: 640 g

Software: Manufacturer ROS / ROS 2 SDK

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / 11

Sensing: Hybrid 3-D + 1-D tactile: distal/proximal normal 0.1–25 N, ≥50 Hz, ±5%; distal tangent 0.25–25 N / 1°; 11×5 palm array at 150 Hz · Weight basis: One hand including wrist: 0.575 ± 0.005 kg.

Software: Manufacturer ROS / ROS 2 SDK

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / —

Sensing: Melexis Tactaxis 3-D magnetic tactile across distal/middle/proximal phalanges; ≥50 Hz; normal 15 N rated / 30 N max / 0.1 N resolution; shear ±5 N; 1° direction · Weight basis: 626 ±5 g

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 13 / 16

Sensing: 1,140 ITPU tactile units / 3,420 channels; 8 MP eye-in-hand RGB camera · Weight basis: Not published

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 11 / 18

Sensing: >1,000 Gen3 ITPU sensors across full hand; optional RGB, RGB-D or IR cameras; onboard SoC · Weight basis: Not published

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 3 / 4

Sensing: 3 positions, 3 motor currents, 6 limits; optional 3 force sensors · Weight basis: Conflicting manufacturer evidence: current webpage 0.520 kg; November 2024 datasheet 0.540 kg. Both refer to a hand; exact revision not resolved.

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 12 / 12

Sensing: Optional high-resolution tactile sensor per finger, >100points each, providing3Dforce and temperature · Weight basis: hand; maker does not separate optional-sensor mass

Software: Linux SDK and ROS-compatible applications

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 21 / 21

Sensing: 18 distributed tactile modules; 0.1 N force perception; centimeter-scale proximity · Weight basis: Hand; official dimensions are 210 × 102 × 44 mm.

Software: C++/Python/ROS 2

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One gripper, product sheet; mounted system may add coupling and sensing.

Software: Robot integration packages; exact robot/URCap version must be matched.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One gripper, product sheet; mounted system may add coupling and sensing.

Software: Robot integration packages; exact robot/URCap version must be matched.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 1 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: 500 g gripper body; complete adapter/package mass not established.

Software: DYNAMIXEL protocol 2.0 / RS-485; current / current-based position control

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 1 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: 500 g gripper body; complete adapter/package mass not established.

Software: DYNAMIXEL protocol 2.0 / RS-485; UR e-Series package with URCap

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 16 / 20

Sensing: Real-time joint-position and tendon/force sensing; public sheet does not enumerate all channels · Weight basis: 1.4kg in manufacturer exhibition spec; older Mark5.0 sheet1.1kg

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 8 / 19

Sensing: Position, speed, current, temperature, overload/PWM on actuated axes; palm ToF; optional capacitive pads and FTS-1/FTS-3 tactile (1 mN resolution, up to 30 N) · Weight basis: One RH8D hand including actuators and spherical wrist: 0.620 kg.

Software: Dynamixel protocols; ROS/Python/URDF

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 8 / 19

Sensing: Position, speed, current, temperature, overload/PWM on actuated axes; palm ToF; optional capacitive pads and FTS-1/FTS-3 tactile (1 mN resolution, up to 30 N) · Weight basis: One hand with integrated actuators and wrist; no external power supply or shipping carton.

Software: URDF and open ROS package

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 12 / 12

Sensing: Per finger: 4 joint positions, 5 tendon forces, motor current/velocity/temperature/clutch, 3-axis accelerometer + gyro; distal optical tactile stereo video; optional Hall tactile arrays on middle/proximal phalanges · Weight basis: One complete three-finger hand, 4.1 kg; not a pair.

Software: ROS

Interactive 3D · BSD-3-Clause →Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 12 / 12

Sensing: Per finger: 4 joint positions, 5 tendon forces, motor current/velocity/temperature/clutch, 3-axis accelerometer + gyro; distal optical tactile stereo video; optional Hall tactile arrays on middle/proximal phalanges · Weight basis: One complete three-finger hand, 4.1 kg; not a pair.

Software: ROS

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 10 / 12

Sensing: Joint position; 20 tendon-load sensors; 1 IMU; 1 standard / up to 3 STF · Weight basis: 2.1 kg for one overall assembly; isolated hand mass unavailable.

Software: Manufacturer lists ROS integration; release compatibility not tested.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 13 / 16

Sensing: Joint position; 26 tendon-load sensors; 1 IMU; 2 standard / up to 4 STF · Weight basis: 2.4 kg for one overall assembly; isolated hand mass unavailable.

Software: Manufacturer lists ROS integration; release compatibility not tested.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 7 / 8

Sensing: Joint position; 14 tendon-load sensors; 1 IMU; 1 standard / up to 2 STF · Weight basis: 1.8 kg for one overall assembly; isolated hand mass unavailable.

Software: Manufacturer lists ROS integration; release compatibility not tested.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / —

Sensing: Torque control advertised; tactile sensor specification not disclosed · Weight basis: One hand; manufacturer Cool Hand family specification

Software: Seller provides Ti5 RS485 and CAN software instruction documents; SDK scope not verified

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / —

Sensing: Torque control advertised; tactile sensor specification not disclosed · Weight basis: One hand; manufacturer Cool Hand family specification

Software: Seller provides Ti5 RS485 and CAN software instruction documents; SDK scope not verified

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 16 / 16

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: Maker states hand plus electronics under 1 kg; no exact mass.

Software: Python library described; C++ and full ROS integration listed as planned

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 16 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: Hand-only mass not established in the reviewed source.

Software: Public fabrication tutorial; external pneumatic control hardware required

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 15 / 20

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: Paper reports 800 g; hand / forearm boundary is not separately itemized.

Software: Author CAD, API, MJCF and camera-teleoperation repositories

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 22 / 22

Sensing: No tactile option listed for the standard configuration · Weight basis: Manufacturer table: one hand, both standard and Pro.

Software: Not established

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 22 / 22

Sensing: Tactile sensing listed for Pro; sensor count and coverage unverified · Weight basis: Manufacturer table: one hand, both standard and Pro.

Software: Not established

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 6 / 11

Sensing: Not verified · Weight basis: Unresolved manufacturer discrepancy: highlights 630 g; parameter table 590 g

Software: Not verified

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 9 / 9

Sensing: Joint position plus 360° pneumatic/capacitive pressure tactile fingertip on each digit · Weight basis: Manufacturer total hand weight

Software: Allegro Hand UXD graphical monitoring and motion control; MoveIt shown

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 16 / 16

Sensing: 16 pneumatic/capacitive tactile sensing points at fingertips/joints; pressure operating range 0–400 kPa, published accuracy 0.1 kPa; sensor operating temperature 0–60°C · Weight basis: Manufacturer total hand weight

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 20 / 20

Sensing: Manufacturer documents multi-axis fingertip force/torque sensing and per-finger SDK streams; fitted sensor package and performance require revision/BOM confirmation. · Weight basis: One Beta 2 bare hand: 0.650 kg. With pads/output cables: 0.800 kg; base: 0.070 kg separately. Seller delivery revision is unconfirmed.

Software: Python/C SDK, ROS 2; URDF/MJCF/USD

Interactive 3D · MIT →Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 2 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One research assembly as listed by Yale; fixture and controller scope not specified.

Software: Yale model page links CAD and fabrication instructions; check exact revision and noncommercial license.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 1 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: No variant-specific hand mass established.

Software: Yale model page links CAD and fabrication instructions; check exact revision and noncommercial license.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 2 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One research assembly as listed by Yale; fixture and controller scope not specified.

Software: Yale model page links CAD and fabrication instructions; check exact revision and noncommercial license.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 4 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One listed hand; fixture and cable boundary not specified.

Software: Published CAD and build documentation; ROS repository supports T, T42 and O. Q integration needs confirmation.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 4 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One listed hand; fixture and cable boundary not specified.

Software: Published CAD and build documentation; ROS repository supports T, T42 and O. Q integration needs confirmation.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 1 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One listed hand; fixture and cable boundary not specified.

Software: Published CAD and build documentation; ROS repository supports T, T42 and O. Q integration needs confirmation.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 2 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One listed hand; fixture and cable boundary not specified.

Software: Published CAD and build documentation; ROS repository supports T, T42 and O. Q integration needs confirmation.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 2 / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One research assembly as listed by Yale; fixture and controller scope not specified.

Software: Yale model page links CAD and fabrication instructions; check exact revision and noncommercial license.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: No variant-specific hand mass established.

Software: Yale model page links CAD and fabrication instructions; check exact revision and noncommercial license.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One research assembly as listed by Yale; fixture and controller scope not specified.

Software: Yale model page links CAD and fabrication instructions; check exact revision and noncommercial license.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: — / —

Sensing: Not established · Weight basis: One research assembly as listed by Yale; fixture and controller scope not specified.

Software: Yale model page links CAD and fabrication instructions; check exact revision and noncommercial license.

Original source ↗

Active / total DOF: 17 / 17

Sensing: Joint position + fingertip pressure; optional flexible electronic skin · Weight basis: One hand including wrist flange: 1.000 kg.

Software: Not disclosed

Original source ↗

Start a discussion

Published posts are public. First contributions are reviewed. Only share material you have permission to disclose.

Report a post